What is Virginia Law on Receiving Stolen Goods?
The Virginia Law on Receiving Stolen Goods is Va. Code 18.2-108:
A. If any person buys or receives from another person, or aids in concealing, any stolen goods or other thing, knowing the same to have been stolen, he shall be deemed guilty of larceny thereof, and may be proceeded against, although the principal offender is not convicted.
B. If any person buys or receives any goods or other thing, used in the course of a criminal investigation by law enforcement that such person believes to have been stolen, he shall be deemed guilty of larceny thereof.
Receipt of Stolen Goods is treated the same as the actually theft, or larceny, or those goods. Depending of the value of the property, the charge will either correspond to the relevant larceny charge. If the proper its less than $1,000, the charge is a Class1 Misdemeanor (Petit Larceny), punishable by up to one year in jail and/or up to a $2,500 fine. If the charge is $1,000 or more, the charge is a Class 6 Felony (Grand Larceny), punishable by up to 5 years in prison, and/or a $2,500 fine.
To prove this charge, the Commonwealth must prove that you actually knew the property was stolen. The easiest way for them to prove this is for you to make statements. So it is particularly important not to talk to law enforcement, and to hire a lawyer for this charge.
Hire A Lawyer For Your Stolen Property Charge in Virginia
Our Client-Focused Criminal Defense Team is prepared to defend you for this or any other charge in Northern Virginia courts. Contact Us to learn how we can help you.